Psychology Explains Why You Need to Stop Avoiding Your Triggers

The Rewired Soul
7 min readJan 24, 2020
Photo by David Garrison at Pexels.com

I absolutely love psychology and how far we’ve come through the decades of research. What breaks my heart is that a lot of people take all of this beautiful research and completely throw it out the window. One of the primary examples of this is the culture of avoiding triggers that has been so prominent in recent years.

Yesterday, I was catching up on YouTube and I came across a video discussing the “proana” (pro-anorexia) community on TikTok that was previously an issue on Tumblr. This is absolutely an issue that needs to be discussed, and the creator did a good job with a brief trigger warning at the beginning of her video. As I kept watching, what troubled me was the half-dozen other trigger warnings throughout the video.

I’d Have a Terrible Life if I Kept Avoiding Triggers

Over seven years ago, I was able to overcome my addiction to drugs and alcohol. My addiction started out with alcohol, but then I found prescription opioids. After almost dying after years of slowly killing myself, I moved from Las Vegas, NV, to Fresno, CA, to get sober. I was sober for a little over a year in Fresno, but then I decided it was time to move back to Las Vegas and start being a father to my son again.

--

--

The Rewired Soul

Psychology/mental health/philosophy. Stay up to date by following me here & on Twitter/Instagram @TheRewiredSoul. Books available at www.TheRewiredSoul.com/shop